Life’s Questions

In this country, football is as much a part of Thanksgiving as is the turkey. Since I always cared more about eating than playing sports, the televised games were always background noise to me. It was something that the “guys” would watch while my sister and I hung out with the ladies sneaking tastes of all the delicious food in the kitchen.

I didn’t realize that watching Thanksgiving Day football was so deeply rooted in our culture until my kids learned about this tradition at school. Having three boys I decided I should brush up on this phenomenon so I could answer the inevitable question; “Why do we watch football on Thanksgiving?” I am sure it will be right up there in importance to them as “Is there a God”? “Is there really a Tooth fairy” “Where do babies come from”- so I thought I should be prepared.

I was surprised to learn that the tradition of playing football on Thanksgiving dates back to the 1800’s. The first Thanksgiving Day game was played in Philadelphia in 1869 and the tradition has continued yearly to this day. And the football is not limited to the TV. Apparently, there is modern day tradition called the “Turkey Day Bowl” which is played by families and friends on their own lawns. I know Brian can’t wait to get our little football team on the field and partake in this ritual. He has been coaching the boys for months now and they can definitely catch a football better than I can. Although that is not saying too much…

And another one of life’s questions: “Why do people like to eat chicken wings when they watch football?” I did some preliminary research into this but was unable to come up with much on that one.

Parmesan Chicken

– This recipe works great for wings or drumsticks, whichever is your family’s preference.

Ingredients:

2-3 lbs chicken drumsticks (about 10 pcs.)

Salt & pepper

1-cup flour

2 eggs, plus a few Tbsp water

2 cups seasoned panko breadcrumbs

1 cup grated Pecorino Romano or Parmesan cheese

2 garlic cloves, finely minced

Method:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Prepare a baking sheet with foil and a baking rack. Season the chicken with salt and pepper.

Set-up breading station: Place flour in a shallow dish. In a second dish, whisk the eggs with a few tablespoons of water. In a third dish, combine the breadcrumbs, grated cheese, and the garlic.

Coat the chicken in the flour, shaking off any excess. Next dip in the egg.

IMG_6911

And lastly, place in the breadcrumb mixture. Press the crumbs firmly to the chicken and place on baking rack.

IMG_6917 IMG_6912

Bake for approximately 30-45 minutes until crispy and chicken is cooked through. Let rest for 5-10 minutes before serving.

IMG_6918

And the VERDICT is:

Mattthew (age 6): “The breadcrumbs ruin the taste of the chicken – not a big fan”

Liam (age 4): “I like the breadcrumbs and the chicken A LOT”

Dylan (age 4): “The breadcrumbs are good but I don’t like the chicken”

Not a touchdown with this one, although there were only 2 pieces left after dinner!

7 thoughts on “Life’s Questions

  1. That is interesting that football games started so long ago on Thanksgiving – not just a food blog! I actually remember hanging in the living room quite a lot with Grandpa, while he “taught” me the game. Although of course, I did plenty of snacking and listening to family gossip so I guess I divided my time fairly equally. I’m also not a big fan of Panko breadcrumbs, however am always surprised when the cheese doesn’t convert them – maybe you needed to add some bacon? 🙂

    On Mon, Nov 25, 2013 at 1:18 PM, houseofbedl

  2. Detroit was one of the 2 NFL teams that started playing on Thanksgiving. It was a tradition of my family to go to the game,something I did until I moved to Chicago. I do like the sound of your chicken but the 3 reviews cracked me up. It’s as if they got together beforehand. ‘You like the breadcrumbs but not the chicken. You like the chicken but not the breadcrumbs. I’ll like them both. Don’t forget to watch Mom’s face.” 🙂

  3. Okay – I made this recipe. My 1st attempt at Bedlam! It was fun. In the end, it is delish…my 4 year old loved it, although I’m not sure he was totally sold on the breading flavor (once he got past that, he cleaned the bone). Unfortunately, it took about twice as long as you said to cook. Not sure why? I loved how they are crispy on the outside and juicy inside. One other thing – I have a ton of leftover breading. Any idea (1) how long this will stay fresh in the fridge, if at all. It is still pretty dry. (2) Any recipe for using the leftover?
    Can’t wait to introduce more Bedlam to my house!

    • Glad you liked it- thanks for leaving a comment- Cooking times will vary according to the size of the chicken pieces and different ovens – just make sure to cook the chicken all the way through.
      As for the breading, my mother used to mix an egg or two (depending on what was left) with the leftover breadcrumbs and pan fry them in a little oil. But you need to do this immediately, you can not save breading that has come into contact with raw chicken.

Reactions? Comments? We love to hear from our readers!

