Crudité

We’re wrapping up the week here with a great dip for those awesome chips we taste tested from Food Should Taste Good. My kids went through all the bags (except the Guacamole) so I used the opportunity to serve them vegetables instead.

I’ve made hummus a zillion times (as per my kids) but I’m trying something different this week. Traditionally hummus is made with tahini, which is a sesame paste, instead I’m using peanut butter. I wish I could say I had some sort of culinary epiphany but the reason I tried peanut butter is simply because I ran out of tahini! I loved the subtle peanut butter flavor; the boys were on the fence…

Peanut Butter Hummus

Ingredients

1 15-ounce can chickpeas, drained, liquid reserved

1 garlic clove

1 Tbsp fresh lemon juice

¼ cup smooth peanut butter, look for brand with no added sugar

2 Tbsp olive oil, plus more for drizzling

Kosher salt

Pinch of paprika

 

Method

Drain chickpeas and reserve liquid. Place liquid in freezer to chill it.

Place chickpeas, garlic, lemon juice and peanut butter in a food processor and pulse until it combines into a chunky paste. You can microwave the peanut butter for about 20-30 seconds before you add it to soften it up a bit. Scrape down sides of the food processor as needed to make sure all the ingredients are combined.

IMG_8527

Remove the reserved cold liquid from the freezer. Add the olive oil and about 3 tablespoons of the liquid to the chickpea paste. Process until smooth. Add a little more of the liquid until you reach desired consistency, anywhere from 3-5 tablespoons. Add salt to taste.

Sprinkle with a bit of paprika and a drizzle of olive oil. Serve with sliced veggies & fruit.

 IMG_8537

WARNING: There will be double dipping, and even triple dipping so make sure each child gets their own bowl of dip!

And the VERDICT is:

Matthew (age 6): “Appetizers! It kind of has a weird aftertaste”

Liam (age 5): “I like the apples!”

Dylan (age 5): “Is this dinner?

Not exactly rave reviews BUT they ate all the fruit and veg, plus about half of the hummus – SUCCESS!

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Crudité

Reactions? Comments? We love to hear from our readers!

