O Is For Oatmeal

Has this every happened to you? You’re shopping in Costco or BJ’s and you see something that you don’t need but the price is so good you can’t resist? So you flex your muscles, lift the 20lb bag, and dump it in your double wide shopping cart. For a split second you think “How will I ever use this all up?” but the thought is fleeting as you spy another amazing bargain!

On my last trip to Costco I had oatmeal on my mind since I had just used the last bit. Arriving at the cereal aisle I spotted an enormous box and calculated the savings of buying the bulk size vs. the small canister at our local market. The cost difference was huge, how could I pass it up? I hefted the box off the shelf and placed it my double wide, proud of my purchasing savvy.

Oatmeal is something we always have in our pantry; the 18oz canister from the supermarket lasts an average of six months in our house. I’ve tried to make breakfast oatmeal with all sorts of toppings but it’s a mutiny every time. So the canister usually sits in the cupboard until it’s needed for cookies or muffins.

Arriving home with my purchase I was faced with a dilemma – what to do with all of this oatmeal– there are only so many cookies a girl can make. I needed to think outside of the oatmeal box and come up with some new ideas. Starting with breakfast made sense so I combined oatmeal with a meal I know my kids love, cheesy eggs. And you know I am adding bacon to this one!

Cheesy Egg Oatmeal Muffins (recipe yields: 16 small muffins)

Ingredients

2 ½ cups oats (not instant)

1 ½ cup whole or 2% milk

2 eggs, lightly beaten

1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

4 bacon strips, cooked and finely diced, divided

½ tsp kosher salt

¼ tsp black pepper

 

Method

Place oats and milk in medium mixing bowl. Combine and cover with plastic wrap. Soak the oats overnight in the refrigerator. (See note below on soaking oats)

IMG_8250

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Prepare a muffin tin with paper cups, non-stick cooking oil, or some butter.

Add eggs, cheddar cheese, half of the bacon, salt and pepper to the oatmeal mixture. Mix until well combined. Fill muffin tins to top (the muffins are not going to rise). Add the remaining bacon on the top.

IMG_8257

Bake for approximately 20 minutes or until muffins are crispy on top and spring back when you touch them. I used a small muffin tin, you will need to adjust cooking time for larger muffins. Serve warm.

IMG_8260

Note about soaking oats: “Soaking” whole grains can make them more digestible and help your system obtain all the nutrients in the food. However, there are lots of people who believe you should and just as many people who say it’s a waste of time. I’m not a nutritionist so I can’t say one way or another. I chose to soak the oats in milk overnight because our muffins came out moister, with better flavor and texture, than without soaking them.

IMG_8268

And the VERDICT is:

Matthew (age 6): “You’re the best muffin omelet maker ever!”

Liam (age 5): “I want the one with the most bacon”

Dylan (age 5): “It’s too hot, but really good”

I made four batches of these and barely put a dent in my oatmeal supply. Anyone have any oatmeal recipes to share!? Please!

9 thoughts on “O Is For Oatmeal

  1. Hi Elaine –

    Impressed that the three judges all gave your recipe a thumbs up!

    To use up more of your oatmeal – the attached recipe turned out to be quite good. Also quite easy. I have a recipe for raspberry-oatmeal bars which I will send at a later date (we are away this week). Also quick and easy.

    Hope to see you all soon –

    Susan

  2. Can’t help you with oatmeal recipes, I’m afraid, though I do love oatmeal-raisin cookies. If we lived closer I’d also volunteer to take some of these tasty muffins off your hands. They do sound good and, as a non-breakfast person, would be perfect for me.
    As for Costco, I go with a list and stick to it. Imagine how long that oatmeal would last around here, being I live alone. Same goes for most of their deals. Now, let me go with a couple friends and we’ll buy out the store. 🙂

    • I have never been an oatmeal lover either but out of necessity I am now. On my fourth batch of granola this week!
      The problem with Costco is that if you have the place to store it you buy it. When we lived in our apartment we never even went there…
      More oatmeal recipes to follow!

  3. Pingback: Oatmeal Squared | houseofbedlam

Reactions? Comments? We love to hear from our readers!

