Carrot Touchdown

We didn’t have a Super Bowl party this year; it was more of a tailgating picnic on our living room floor. And even though we did make chicken wings for the “party” I figured nobody wanted to read about yet another chicken wing recipe the week leading up to game day. But I will definitely post the recipe in the next few months as the wings came out so good my only problem was not having enough. How did I know that 2lbs of chicken would not be a sufficient amount for three children under the age of seven? Lesson learned…

This might sound hard to believe but the carrots I made to go with the wings also got inhaled. Maybe it was because we went skiing that day and the boys were starving? Maybe they were just so excited to be eating in front of the TV? Maybe they wanted to make me happy so I would let them stay up to watch the whole game? Who knows? I don’t care, but I am definitely going to be trying these again.  Even though the Super Bowl was not very memorable this year, these carrots certainly were. Sorry Bronco fans…

Honey Roasted Carrots

Ingredients

8-10 carrots, peeled and cut into 3” pieces

3 Tbsp honey

2 Tbsp olive oil

2 Tbsp soy sauce

1 Tbsp fresh orange juice

 

Method

Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil. Add the carrots and cook until they are fork tender. Drain the carrots and let cool.

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.

Meanwhile in a medium mixing bowl, whisk together the honey, olive oil, soy sauce and orange juice. Toss in the carrots and coat well.

Prepare a baking sheet with parchment paper and spread out the carrots in a single layer. Roast in the oven until caramelized, about 15-18 minutes depending on the thickness of the carrots. At midpoint of roasting give the baking sheet a shake to rotate the carrots.

IMG_7537

Serve hot or cold.

IMG_7539

And the VERDICT is:

Matthew (age 6): “A little too mushy…”

Liam (age 4): “More carrot fries!”

Dylan (age 4)” “Why does Liam get more than me?”

What did you eat while watching the big game?

10 thoughts on “Carrot Touchdown

  1. Is it true you can add “fries” to anything and they’ll eat it? And I love that Dylan is such a vegetable fiend (or just crazy competitive with Liam).

  2. Would you believe Bill and I actually watched the last half of the game? We have never that I can recall watched any sports with a ball in it period. However, everyone was talking about it and we decided to see what the hoopla was about. We had left over Chinese food and ice cream…my very favorite sports food. Just in case I did have lots of cheese, nachos, salsa on hand, but we decided supper was a better snack than nibbling… We may even watch another one some century!

    Honey works so well on roasted veggies, you can also use maple syrup which I do when roasting veggies for Thanksgiving, etc.Maple syrup and a little butter works wonders.

    Love, Judy

    • You definitely picked the wrong game to watch! The commercials were the best part. Left over Chinese sounds like the perfect accompaniment.
      Hope you are digging your way out of the snow!
      Love,
      Elaine

  3. I forgot; roasted parsnips are fabulous also and a different kind of veggie fry…you can use honey or maple syrup…
    Love, Judy

  4. I’ve a feeling that no matter how many wings you prepare for the “big game”, you’re never going to have enough. I must say, though, these carrots sound great. I’ve roasted them with honey before but l love your idea of adding a bit of soy and citrus. I’ve got to give them a try. Thanks!

Reactions? Comments? We love to hear from our readers!

