BBQ in BKLYN

Last week we took a road trip to Brooklyn for a BBQ.  After two years on a waiting list my good friend had scored the impossible – a 2BDRM 2BATH apartment with an outdoor space!  A rarity in New York where outdoor spaces usually comprise of fire escapes or tar rooftops. This was a genuine deck; big enough for a patio table, chaise lounge AND grill.

The best feature, aside from the grill, was ample space for our kids to run around while my friends and I could enjoy some wine and cheese, and an actual conversation. My kids were almost as thrilled as I was.

We had to endure two hours of traffic to get to there. The amount of times three children can say “Mommy, are we there yet?” during a ride of that duration is truly mind-boggling. But we eventually saw the sign that we had arrived:

hype

My friend had just purchased her grill and we were christening it that night. Dinner was hamburgers and flank steak pinwheels stuffed with spinach and cheese. The boys were excited about the hamburgers, but I was eager to taste the flank steak pinwheels. They were so delicious I decided to recreate it this week with a different stuffing, as I was still thinking about them.

On the trek home, the boys fell fast asleep; snug in their PJ’s – dreaming of who knows what – And I enjoyed a quiet, traffic-free, ride home.

oyveysignb

Flank Steak

Ingredients:

1 (1 1/2 or 2-pound) flank steak, butterflied *

4 oz. prosciutto, thinly sliced, (about 6-8 slices)

4 oz. mozzarella cheese, thinly sliced (6 slices)

1 roasted red pepper, cut in strips

15 fresh basil leaves

Olive oil

Salt & Pepper

* Have your butcher butterfly the steak. The meat dept. at any supermarket will do this.

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Place the steak on a flat surface; cut side up, with the grain of the meat running from left to right. Season the top of steak with salt and pepper. Then layer the surface with the prosciutto slices, next top with the mozzarella cheese. Add the strips of peppers and top with a layer of basil leaves.

IMG_5181

Tightly roll the flank steak around the filling (steak should be rolled parallel to the grain). Using kitchen string, tie the roll every two inches or so. Season the roll all around with salt and pepper.

IMG_5184

In a large ovenproof skillet, heat about 2 tablespoons of olive oil on medium-high heat. Once the pan is hot, sear each side of the roll, approximately 2-3 minutes per side.

IMG_5188

IMG_5190

Once the steak is seared on all sides, place the skillet in the oven and bake the steak for about 30 minutes until desired doneness.

Transfer the steak from the skillet to a plate and cover with aluminum foil. Let rest for at least 5 minutes before slicing into individual rolls.

IMG_5202

IMG_5211

Note 1: 125-130 degrees internal temperature is medium rare; which is best for this type of steak. You will need a meat thermometer for this recipe.

Note 2: Normally I would try this on the grill but it was pouring rain that night. Cooking this in the oven was easy, but way more clean up.

And the VERDICT is:

Matthew (age 6): “Not bad – works for me… I like this basil”

Liam (age 4): “I knew this lunch would be bad!”

Dylan (age 4): “Basil makes it yucky but I like the ham so much”

Secretly, I was hoping they wouldn’t eat it so there would be lots of leftovers. This came out even better than I had expected – YUM! 

8 thoughts on “BBQ in BKLYN

  1. that is a beautiful looking piece of steak but i have to agree with dylan re the basil. poor liam. how he must have suffered with that “bad” lunch!

  2. A 2 BR apartment with terrace is such a rarity in NY. How very lucky that your friend found one. This steak looks like a great preparation. That filling is something I woud really enjoy. I do enjoy your sons’ reviews of your dishes. Having cooked a few meals for the little ones in my family, you really never know what kind of review they’ll utter. Thanks for sharing a little of them with us.

  3. hmmmmm. Yours looks better (must be the prosciutto), but certainly the fantastic company made the BK BBQ the relaxing and super enjoyable experience you speak of. I also never thought of them as “pin wheels” that connotation usually reminds me of something sweet. Maybe for the sake of the boyz you could rename them hockey pucks or meat roll ups… AND how about props to your gals that kept you wine’d and cheeze’d. Come on now girl friend…. not even a mention of the charred dog u made me….

  4. That steak looks amazing! And so tidy! I imagine if I attemped that it would be a total, falling apart, oozing wreck! And can I just say… that header photo? Those little faces are unbearably cute!

Reactions? Comments? We love to hear from our readers!

