Weight Watchers

When I was in college I gained the Freshman 15, along with most of my friends (except for one of us, you know who you are KJ!) The food served at the cafeteria was terrible but since it was in abundance, most of us ate way too much. So the summer before sophomore year my friend and I joined Weight Watchers and managed to stay at a healthy weight through to graduation. We used to spend hours in the kitchen making up ways to get broccoli to taste as good as those fries they served in the Cellar, our local hangout.

When I became a mother those extra pounds came in the form of baby weight not beer weight. I had to draw on all those creative meals my friend and I made that summer to get back in shape, especially after having twins! Recently, that same friend, who is back on Weight Watchers (a great program, in my opinion) sent me a picture of something she had made and the corresponding points. It made me nostalgic for that summer we spent mixing up our concoctions and meticulously adding up our points for the day.

So my inspiration this week comes from those fun days in our campus kitchen. After last week’s eggplant debacle I was hoping to turn out a dish the boys would actually eat. I should clarify that I am absolutely not putting my boys on Weight Watchers (I do not advocate putting children on diets.) If my kids are eating real food with fresh ingredients, for the MOST part, that is what matters to me.  Now, let’s see if they will eat shrimp!

Shrimp Crostini

Ingredients:

12 slices, french baguette, sliced on diagonal, 1/2 inch thick

3 Tbsp olive oil, divided

1 roasted pepper, yellow or red, peeled and seeded

2 plum tomatoes, peeled and seeded

2 Tbsp Parmesan, grated

1 Tbsp lemon juice, fresh

Salt & Pepper

1 clove garlic, minced

12 large shrimp, precooked, cut into bite size pieces

1 tsp parsley, plus more for garnish (optional)

 

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Arrange bread slices on a baking sheet and drizzle with 1 Tbsp of the olive oil. Toast bread, approximately 8-10 minutes, remove from oven and set aside.

If you have the time and inclination to roast the pepper it is super easy and tastes so much better. Otherwise store-bought is fine! To roast peppers simply place them directly on your stovetop with a medium-high flame. Turn frequently with tongs until charred and slightly soft to the touch. Place in plastic freezer bag for 10 minutes to steam, peel away charred skin and take out seeds.

IMG_3373 IMG_3374

Combine pepper, tomatoes, Parmesan, 1 Tbsp olive oil, and lemon juice in food processor. Blend until a chunky paste, salt and pepper to taste.

IMG_3379 IMG_3381

Meanwhile, heat the last Tbsp of olive oil in a skillet over medium-high heat. Add garlic and cook until fragrant, about 2-3 minutes. Add the pepper tomato mixture and cook down about 5 minutes. Add shrimp and parsley for the last minute just to heat through.

Spoon shrimp mixture on top of toast and garnish with remaining parsley.

IMG_3398

And the VERDICT is:

Matthew: “It’s a home run!”

Dylan: “I like the shrimp and the bread, but not the seaweed. It is a little messy”

Liam: “Can I have Dylan’s? This is the best thing I ever ate!”

Wow, sometimes my kids surprise me… And if anyone reading this can figure out how many points are in these crostini, I would love to know!

10 thoughts on “Weight Watchers

  1. that sounds absolutely delicious and I will definitely try it. By the way, if you do not have the time you can use roasted peppers from a jar instead. Would you like me to send you Weight Watchers recipes? I must have 20 of their cookbooks with some great recipes in them. Let me know what foods you would like and I shall send. Glad the kids are enjoying

    By the way you are right about not putting the kids on a diet. they eat vegs and fruit and you do not fry everything and they are not french fried addicts so all is well. I have been on a low fat healthy eating diet my whole life and my nutritionist consult and doctors all agree that is why my heart has remained healthy!

    So…keep it up!
    Love, J & B

  2. Wow. those look delish. Wow, I feel the heartfelt shout out. I must confess to be that friend that also misses that summer and those good times. Remember eating the giant spaghetti squash? Being back on ww does remind me that you need a fun buddy to go through this with!!! And as I watch my “my strange addiction” I am reminded that my food addiction is nothing like the coffee enemas or eating cat hair that I am viewing as I write this. It is all about perspective.

    Now the good news… I have plugged your fine recipe into the weight watchers online recipe builder tool, and I took the liberty of entering your baguette as a Trader Joe multigrain baguette. After entering each individual ingredient the recipe calculator gives each Shrimp Crostini = 4 points! Good for anyone who is on WW and as per your boyz it looks like it will taste great too!

    • I am glad you were feeling the love! How could I forget that spaghetti squash? Thanks for answering the point query – I was very curious.
      And I don’t even want to know what you are watching right now – gross!!!!

Reactions? Comments? We love to hear from our readers!

