Leftovers

One of my assignments this year for the Thanksgiving feast is sweet potatoes. Yes, somehow I managed to escape hosting another year! I have never made traditional mashed sweet potatoes so I did a trial run before the big day. Consequently, we had lots of leftovers even before Thanksgiving.

I knew the boys wouldn’t go for the mashed sweet potatoes straight up so I came up with a great idea for pizza that I thought they would love. Anything with cheese usually does well at our house.

Since the sweet potatoes were well hidden I was counting on the boys to like it. Plus the recipe called for maple syrup to sweeten the deal – how could I go wrong with that? But then again, our crazy crew tends to react exactly opposite to what you would expect…. I think they do it just to drive me insane  keep me on my toes– but that is another story…

“Sweet” Sweet Potato Pizza

Ingredients:

3 small sweet potato, peeled and cubed

1/4-cup milk

2 Tbsp butter, room temperature

1/4 cup maple syrup

1/4 tsp salt

1 Tbsp Olive Oil, plus some extra for brushing on dough

1 lb sweet sausage, casings removed

Pinch of salt

1 ball pizza dough (16 oz.)

1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese

2 cups grated fresh Mozzarella cheese

 

Directions:

Make the mash:

Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil. Add potatoes and cook until tender, about 20 minutes. Drain well and mash with fork or potato masher. Add milk, butter, syrup and salt. Blend until smooth and set aside. (Potatoes can be made ahead, bring to room temperature before using)

Make the sausage:

Heat olive oil in a skillet over medium high heat and add the sausage and salt. Using a wooden spoon, break up the sausage and sauté until cooked through, about 10 minutes. Transfer sausage to plate with slotted spoon, then set aside to let cool. (Sausage can be made ahead)

Roll out the dough:

Preheat oven to 500 degrees. Lightly oil a large baking sheet. On a lightly floured surface, roll out pizza dough with rolling pin and transfer dough to baking sheet. Lightly brush dough with olive oil.

Spread sweet potato mixture evenly over dough, leaving about 1/2 inch border. Top with mozzarella cheese, sausage, and grated Parmesan cheese.

Bake until the crust is golden, about 16-18 minutes. Remove from oven and let cool slightly. Cut into slices and dig in! Yield: 12 square slices.

And the VERDICT is:

Matthew: The BEST PIZZA I ever had! (total = 2 1/2pcs)

Liam: It tastes burnt- the sweet potato is disgusting (total = 2 1/2pcs)

Dylan: Mmmm, Mmmmm, Mmmmm (total = 2 pcs)

Brian: When I saw you spreading sweet potato on pizza I was skeptical but this is really good! (total = 4pcs)

This pizza came out so yummy, entirely worth the effort. Next time I am making two because if you do the math there was not much left for me!

8 thoughts on “Leftovers

  1. Hi Lisa,

    To save time you can keep a can of sweet potatoes or yams on hand and use that. You cannot tell the difference and it saves time peeling. I always keep a few frozen pizza dough balls in the freezer. It keeps forever if it is frozen and is fairly easy to thaw. So glad teh kids liked it (including the big kid,Brian). Don’t starve, make two and freeze one of the pizzas leftovers for later.

    Love, Judy

Reactions? Comments? We love to hear from our readers!

